Press "Enter" to skip to content
Members of the Pirates AAA championship baseball team were honored during the annual awards banquet. Pictured are (l-r) head coach Don Hanson as he recognizes the 1st Team All-Region players, including Zane Axelberg, Mason Trucks, Trevor Bagwell, Braden Osbolt, Josh Buffington and Caden Swift.

Championship Pirates honored for achievements

The Georgia High School Association AAA State Championship Pirates baseball team were recently honored for their collective and individual honors earned throughout the baseball season. 

“What an amazing group of kids from the jokesters to even keeled to goal driven. This team has it all. The two things that pulls them all together is the love of the game and the love they have for one another,” said head coach Don Hanson. “Seriously, they’re all like brothers. One minute they are ready to choke each other and the next minute they are laughing so hard. They play so well together picking each other up sometimes verbally and sometimes with a big play. They always have each other’s back. I had so much fun with these boys, they all feel like my own children. I have spent so much time with them watching them grow in wisdom of the game and growing in life experiences. I could not have asked for a better group of boys to have coached. They deserve every bit of success that has come their way and they all have more success ahead them in the future. They are champions in more than just the game of baseball.”

Coaches Awards were presented to players who exemplify everything a coach looks for in a player that statistics don’t show, including a great attitude, work ethic, character and willingness to make sacrifices for the team. Garrett Child, Cyle Wells, Christian Childress and Andrew Huffstetler earned the Coaches Awards. 

The Cy Young Award was presented to Braden Osbolt, Mason Trucks and Trevor Bagwell. 

The Gold Glove Award was presented to Zane Axelberg and Kaleb Hammond. 

Josh Buffington earned the Most Improved Award. 

Caden Swift earned the Iron Man Award. 

The Pirate Award was presented to Coleman Johnson, Ridge Smith and Kole Hammond. 

The Behind the Scenes Award was presented to statistician Cooper Hanson and team managers London Gresham and Ty Mobley. 

Braden Osbolt was honored as All-Region Player of the Year with a batting average of .606, an on base percentage of .723, 19 RBIs and an earned run average of .583 with 41 strikeouts and only six walks. He also earned the Big Stick Award for the Pirates.

Mason Trucks was honored as All-Region Pitcher of the Year with an ERA of .219 with 57 strikeouts and only 11 walks. 

Members of the First Team All Region include Braden Osbolt as shortstop and pitcher, Mason Trucks as first base and pitcher, Trevor Bagwell as pitcher, Caden Swift as catcher, Zane Axelberg as second base and Josh Buffington as an outfielder. Members of the 2nd Team All Region include Kaleb Hammond as third base, Kole Hammond as first base, Ridge Smith as an outfielder and Coleman Johnson as an outfielder. 

On behalf of the Pirates baseball program, coach Hanson thanked the members of the Diamond Club, including president Bruce Bagwell, vice president Chase Carden, treasurer Shannon Spraggins and secretary Honey Davis as well as his wife Marci Hanson, “Julie and Jonathan Wells, Christi Swift, Beth Buffington, Steve Davis, Bubba Johnson, John Spraggins, Dana and Mia Mobley and all the helping hands that make game days go so smoothly,” he said.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.

    Website by - Copyright 2021