Press "Enter" to skip to content

Early voting starts Monday, April 30

Zebulon citizens will vote on whether or not to allow liquor sales by the drink in the city in the May 22 election, including limited hours on Sundays. Pike County residents will not have any local races, but residents will vote on many state and federal races. With Gov. Nathan Deal deciding to retire and several other state officials making moves from office, there are many challengers vying for seats which will likely result in a runoff election. Early voting will be offered starting Monday, April 30 at the registrar’s office on Jackson Street, next to the sheriff’s office, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. each week day. Early voting will also be held on Saturday, May 12 from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. since it is a federal election. The last day for early voting will be on Friday, May 18 and the general election will be held on Tuesday, May 22 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at precincts across the county. Early voting will begin in the city of Zebulon on Monday, April 20 as voters consider authorizing the city to permit and regulate the sale of liquor by the drink. Early voting will be held from 8 a.m. to 12 noon and 1 to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday from April 30 to May 18 at Zebulon City Hall. ’Voters who plan on voting after May 18 must go to their assigned precincts as there will no longer be early voting at the registrar’s office,’ said Pike County registrar Sandi Chamblin. ‘All voters will need is a picture ID to cast their ballots.’ Sample ballots will be available at the registrar’s office or online at the Secretary of State’s website at Absentee ballots are still available and they must be returned to the registrar’s office by 5 p.m. May 22. Several local candidates will be listed on the ballot but they are running unopposed, including commissioners Tim Guy and Tim Daniel and school board members G. Ryan Edge, Allen Edwards and Floyd Jerome Miller. Miller was the only candidate to qualify for Fred Blackmon who announced his retirement. The race for governor includes seven Republican candidates on the ballot – L.S. ‘˜Casey’ Cagle, Eddie Hayes, Hunter Hill, Brian Kemp, Clay Tippins, Marc Urbach and Michael Williamson – and two Democratic candidates – Stacey Abrams and Stacey Evans. Candidates for Lt. Gov. include Republican candidates Geoff Duncan, Rick Jeffares and David Shafer and Democratic candidates Sarah Riggs Amico and Triana Arnold James. There are seven candidates for Secretary of State including Republicans David Belle Isle, Buzz Brockway, Josh McKoon and Brad Raffensperger and Democrats John Barrow, Dee Dawkins-Haigler and Rakeim ‘˜RJ’ Hadley. There are five candidates for the Commissioner of Insurance, including Republicans Jim Beck, Jay Florence and Tracy Jordan and Democrats Janice Laws and Cindy Zeldin. There are five candidates for State School Superintendent including Republicans John Barge and Richard Woods (incumbent) and Democrats Sid Chapman, Sam Mosteller and Otha E. Thornton Jr. Candidates for the U.S. Representative in the 116th Congress from the Third Congressional District of Georgia include Republicans Drew Ferguson and Philip Singleton and Democrats Chuck Enderlin and Rusty Oliver. Candidates for State Senator from the 16th District include Republicans Marty Harbin (incumbent) and Tricia Stearns and Democrat Bill Lightle. Candidates for the General Assembly’s 131st District include Republicans Johnnie Caldwell (incumbent) and Ken Pullin and Democrat Chris Benton.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Website by - Copyright 2021