Press "Enter" to skip to content

Leadership Pike completes projects

The 2013 Leadership Pike worked hard to complete several projects to help members of the community in many ways. Through sponsorships and donations, Leadership Pike members renovated and refreshed Williamson’s playground and contributed to future maintenance for the park. They helped purchase recreation equipment for the Old Mount Calvary after school program which stepped up to help children enrolled in the Boys and Girls Club when it was closed Sept. 30 due to budget cuts. Members also raised funds to buy an early literacy computer station to be used by all children who visit the J. Joel Edwards Public Library. ’The chamber of commerce 2013 Leadership Pike class went above and beyond with accomplishing these three class projects,’ said chamber executive director Christy Hammons. The 2013 Leadership Pike class included Aaron Paschal of Georgia Power; Audrey Dickens and Lauren Rogers of Coker Pediatrics; Billy McDowell of New Pleasant Hill CME Church; Cora Shackelford, Erma Williams, Greta Wood, Jared Thompson, Shep Marsh, Stephanie Fowler and Tim Jones of United Bank; Jim Quick and Martha Calvert of the University of Georgia Griffin Campus; John Morrison and Kim Stephens of Spalding Regional Hospital; Michael K. Cox of United Healthcare Medicare Plans; Nadine Tyft of Advo-Kids CASA; Patricia Beckham of Pike County NAACP 5228; Renee Adams of First Bank of Pike; and Steve Hendrix of Southern Crescent Technical College. Leadership Pike allows participants to develop and enhance leadership skills through a series of skill-based sessions. It provides an opportunity to experience and understand the challenges and success of the community through issue-based sessions that include government, education, public safety, social issues, agribusiness, healthcare and industry. The next class will be offered in January 2014.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Website by - Copyright 2021