Press "Enter" to skip to content

Liquor by the drink passes in Concord; all precincts reporting

Despite having a record-breaking number of early voters and absentee ballots and two new polling locations, the Pike County elections office had all ballots counted and reported before 10 p.m. on Election Day. Presidential election results were announced Saturday, Nov. 7 with Joe Biden securing a narrow victory over Donald Trump across the country. A total of 10,753 Pike voters cast ballots for a 77.9 percent turnout, compared to an 82% turnout in 2016. Pike did set records both in early in-person and absentee voting. ’Pike had a great turnout, especially in early voting where we had 6,616 ballots in advanced in-person voting and 1,470 by absentee ballot,’ said Pike County election supervisor Lynn Vickers. ‘Our poll workers did an awesome job! Thank you to the voters who turned out to cast their vote!’ Pike voted overwhelmingly for Trump who got 9,127 votes compared to Biden’s 1,505 votes and Jo Jorgenson’s 88 votes. Pike’s Beth Camp won a landslide victory as she was elected as the new District 131 state representative and she will take the place of another Pike resident, Ken Pullin, in that seat. In Pike, Beth Camp got 9,204 votes over her opponent Chris Benton who got 1,349 votes here. Statewide, she won with 74.8% and a total of 20,235 votes. In Concord, a total of 187 voters cast ballots to decide whether the sale of liquor by the drink on Sundays will be allowed in the city. Voters decided Sunday sales of liquor by the drink will be allowed as 138 voted in favor and 49 voted against. Incumbent Kelly Loeffler drew 4,965 votes in Pike while fellow Republican Doug Collins got 3,531 votes. Democrat Raphael Warnock got 1,117 votes. Libertarian Shane Hazel had 174 votes. The other 17 candidates in the race got between 14 and 152 votes. Loeffler and Warnock will battle it out in a runoff Jan. 5, 2021. Incumbent David Perdue (R) rolled past Democrat challenger Jon Ossoff locally with 9,042 votes to 1,428 votes. That race also looked to be headed to a runoff at press time Monday. Incumbent U.S. House District 3’s Drew Ferguson (R) easily won reelection over Democrat Val Almonord, taking 65% of the vote across the district. Locally, Ferguson defeated Almonord 9,110 votes to 1,367 votes. In the Senate District 16 race, incumbent Republican Marty Harbin routed Democratic challenger Cinquez Jester taking 68% of the vote across the district. Locally, Harbin got 9,072 votes to Jester’s 1,359 votes.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Website by - Copyright 2021