Press "Enter" to skip to content

Local primaries set for July

Changes to Georgia’s election laws mean all local non-partisan elections will be held July 31 this year. In the past, non-partisan elections were held in November. *************** ©The Pike County Journal Reporter/ This information may not be reprinted, broadcast or distributed electronically in any form or fashion without express consent. For reprint permission, e-mail *************** The general election, including the presidential vote, will be Nov. 6. There are many local offices up for re-election this year, including the positions of sheriff Jimmy Thomas, commission chairman Doug Mangham, District 3 commissioner Tommy Powers, District 4 commissioner Don Collins, probate judge Lynn Brandenburg, magistrate judge Marcia Callaway-Ingram, clerk of superior court Carolyn Williams, tax commissioner Donna Wynn, coroner Terrell Moody, District 3 board of education member Roger Green, District 4 board of education member John Wynn and District 5 board of education member April Byrd as well as all judges in Griffin’s Superior Court. Qualifying begins in May with the fees for magistrate judge, probate judge, superior court clerk and tax commissioner all set by the county at $1392.25. The qualifying fee for sheriff is $1,616.40 and $234.17 for coroner. Qualifying fees for the commission chairman are $180 and $162 for commissioners. The qualifying fee for school board members is $72. The change in state law could save the county money since there will not be a need for elections in November when there is not a presidential election underway. Absentee ballots for the March presidential preferential primary will be mailed beginning Jan. 20 and advanced voting begins Feb. 13 at the courthouse and ends March 2. Citizens also will have the opportunity to vote Saturday, Feb. 25 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Website by - Copyright 2021