Press "Enter" to skip to content

Meet candidates for Nov. 3 election

Several local council seats – and two mayoral positions – will be up for re-election in the Tuesday, Nov. 3 election. Read about each candidate on pages 2-3A. Advanced/early voting is being held Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. and ends Oct. 30. Absentee ballots can only be requested through Oct. 30. Absentee ballots must be received in the office by Nov. 3 at 5 p.m. Three candidates vying for the mayor’s position in Zebulon include Bobby Blalock, Larry Lynch and James Nobles. Wade Evans and incumbent Dewey Yarbrough will face off for the District 2, Post 3 seat. Incumbent David Woods is being challenged by Joanne Tucker for the District 1, Post 3 seat. In Williamson, incumbent mayor Steve Fry will face challenger and former Post 2 council woman Lynn Hubbard. The council has two seats open since Hubbard gave up her seat to run for mayor. No one qualified for the Post 5 seat held by Benson Hilley Sr. for around 35 years. He did not run for re-election due to health problems. The Williamson city will still have a quorum of council members with three on board and may wait to hold a special election in January. In Concord, incumbent Kim Griffin will face challenger Ric Calhoun for the Post 5 council seat. Incumbent Doug Neath was unopposed for the Post 3 seat and incumbent Sabrina Weathers was unopposed for the Post 4 seat.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Website by - Copyright 2021