Press "Enter" to skip to content

Norwood wrestles to fourth in the state

The wrestling team finished in 18th place in the state last weekend. Six wrestlers went to the state and all won at least one match to put them in the top 12. Josh Simms became the first freshman to go to the state meet. He advanced then lost narrowly to Jefferson. Landen Kompelien, Tyler Morris, and Justen Brown all lost close matches by one or two points on their quest. Brown ends his career as the first state placer, in school history, wrestler with the most pins and the only two time area champion. Brown was also the sectionals champion. Kompelien was also an area champ and placed second in the sectional meet. Casey Anthony missed placing in the tournament by one point in an overtime match with Pepperell. Anthony finished seventh in the sectional meet last week and the Pepperell wrestler was the sectional champion. He made big strides at the state meet, beating opponents he had previously lost to earlier in the season. Richie Norwood represented Pike well by placing fourth. Norwood won several nail biting matches on his advancement through the brackets before falling in the match for third. He lost by one point and had a hold locked up on the buzzer that could have given him the win. Norwood ends his career with three school records. He holds the record for the most wins in a season, most consecutive wins, and the highest placement in the state meet. Wrestling team sponsors this year were Jones and Son’s Rental Properties, Ace Rebec-ca Construction, Steve Alley Home Builders, Papa Willie’s Country Store BBQ, Day Dreams Tanning Salon and Gifts, Garden Patch Restau-rant, United Bank, Stone and Sons Construction, Tenant Mechanical, Freshway Mark-et, Christ Chapel, Bertram’s Septic Service, Variety Wall Systems, and C and C Em-broidery. The wrestling banquet will be held March 5 at Christ Chapel Church at 7 p.m.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Website by - Copyright 2021