Press "Enter" to skip to content

Post 197 honors members, local leaders

The American Legion Post 197 Family honored community leaders and members at their Award and Officer Installation Ceremonies held July 14. The Post 197 Peace Officer of the Year, Firefighter of the Year, EMT of the Year, Family of the Year and Legionnaire of the Year were honored as well. After the posting of the colors by Post 197 Sergeant at Arms Robert Huckaby and the Legion Family Color Guard, the pledge of Allegiance and POW/MIA/KIA recognition, awards were presented to local honorees, including longtime American Legion members and local leaders who received certificates of appreciation. Members honored for their years of Post 197 service, included James W. Lawrence, 23 years, Robert M. Atchison, 23 years, William L. Huckaby, 22 years, Douglas E. Jones, 17 years, Ronald C. Bartlett, 17 years, William T. Hamrick, 16 years, Charles H. Dayhuff III, 15 years, and David R. Bugh, 15 years. Post 197 Certificates of Appreciation were presented to Zebulon mayor Bobby Blalock, Meansville mayor Gayle Burden, commission chairman Briar Johnson, Tim Daniel and Terrell Moody of Moody-Daniel Funeral Home, Sons of The American Legion member Jason Patten, sheriff Jimmy Thomas and Brenda Turner. The Post 197 Peace Officer of the Year award was presented to Lt. Christopher Laggis for his dedication to protecting and serving local citizens. The Post 197 Firefighter of the Year award was presented to firefighter Larry Gaddy for volunteering his time to serve Pike County citizens in need. The Post 197 Emergency Medical Technician award was presented to Sgt. Bart Brock for his efforts to save lives. The Post 197 Legion Family of the Year award honored the late William ‘Bill’ Dials and his wife Bonnie Dials for their instrumental influence on the Post 197 family over the years and their support of local veterans. The Post 197 Legionnaire of the Year award was presented to Robert L. Huckaby whose overwhelming dedication has helped unite the Legion Family. Post 197 officers for the 2016-17 year include Commander Bryan D. Richardson, Senior Vice Commander Wayne L. Germain, Junior Vice Commanders Stefan R. Huckaby and Steven T. Yerkes, Adjutant Bill J. Payton Sr., Finance Officer William B. Walker, Chaplain Paul Harris, Service Officer James M. Totten, Historian Peggi J. Payton, Judge Advocate Billy J. Payton Sr. and Sergeant-at-Arms Robert L. Huckaby. The Legion Auxiliary presented a continuous membership award to Melissa Patten for 6 years, two Certificates of Appreciation to American Legion Department of Georgia Commander Carmen Streit-Smith and Kathy Richardson; and presented two honorary yearly memberships to Brenda Turner and her mother Margaret Rawlins. Legion Auxiliary Unit 197 officers for the 2016-17 year include President Peggi Payton, First Vice President Tamra Granger, Second Vice President Melissa Patten, Secretary and Chaplain Barbara Jeffreys, Treasurer and Sergeant-at-Arms Jenifer Farmer, Historian Sandra Germain and Junior Sergeant-at-Arms Willa Payton.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Website by - Copyright 2021