Press "Enter" to skip to content

Qualifying ends, races shape up

Qualifying ended last week in Pike County and all local candidates were unopposed and will remain in office with swearing in ceremonies to be scheduled in January. County commission seats up for re-election included District 1, held by Tim Daniel, and District 2, held by Tim Guy. Both qualified with no opposition. Three seats were up for election on the Pike County board of education, including the District 1 seat held by chairman G. Ryan Edge, the District 2 seat held by Allen Edwards and the District 6 seat held by Fred Blackmon. Blackmon announced his resignation recently and Floyd Jerome Miller qualified unopposed for the District 6 seat. Edge and Edwards were also unopposed. There will be contested races on the local ballot at the federal and state level, however. In the 3rd District Congressional race, incumbent Republican Drew Ferguson qualified as did challengers Chuck Enderlin (D), Rusty Oliver (D) and Philip Singleton (R). In the District 16 state senate race, Republican incumbent Marty Harbin qualified for reelection. Also running are Bill Lightle (D) and Tricia Stearns (R). In the District 130 state house race, Republican incumbent David Knight qualified. He faces primary opposition for another Republican, Raymond Ray. In the District 131 house race, Republican incumbent Johnnie Caldwell qualified as did Chris Benton (D) and Ken Pullin (R). Voters must be registered by Tuesday, April 24 in order to vote in the elections and local citizens can register at the registrar’s office on Jackson Street. Go to to see your My Voter Page on the Secretary of State’s website and find election ballots and info. The May 22 election will determine the winners between Republican and Democratic candidates on the ballot. Advance voting will be offered. A runoff, if needed, will be held Tuesday, July 24. The General Election will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 6.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Website by - Copyright 2021