Press "Enter" to skip to content

Rep. Beth Camp to chair committee on Community Solar

State Representative Beth Camp (R-Concord) was recently named as the chair of the House Energy, Utilities and Telecommunications Ad Hoc Committee on Community Solar. She was appointed to this position by Energy, Utilities and Telecommunications Committee Chairman Don Parsons (R-Marietta).

“It has been an honor to serve in the State House as the chair of the Intragovernmental Coordination Committee, and I am thankful for the opportunity to now also serve as the chair of the Energy, Utilities and Telecommunications Ad Hoc Committee on Community Solar,” said Rep. Camp. “Community Solar is rapidly growing across the country, and after I introduced House Bill 1152, The Georgia Homegrown Solar Act, we saw the need to further the discussion on this important topic.”

“We will spend time over the interim studying this issue to perfect legislation for consideration during the 2025 legislative session,” said Rep. Camp.

The Community Solar Ad Hoc Committee was created following Chair Camp’s introduction of House Bill 1152, or the Georgia Homegrown Solar Act of 2024, during this year’s legislative session. HB 1152 would allow customers of an electric utility to aggregate demand from multiple locations and subscribe to certain off-site solar facilities, provide nondiscriminatory interconnection of these facilities, provide consumer protections for customers and allow customers to access their own meter usage and provide the usage data to authorized third parties.

“Community solar is projects under 30 acres and are not combined multiple projects or large scale utility projects, but smaller projects that utilize sunlight for energy utilizing a communities desire to take advantage of the lowest per kilowatt cost source of power,” said Rep. Camp.

Further, the bill would create a framework for community solar providers to operate within the state, which would be determined by the Public Service Commission. In many other states, community solar providers are paid by utility companies for the energy generated through their solar panels, and the subscribers of these providers receive a credit on their electricity bill based on the value generated by their community solar subscription, which can be used by landowners, nonprofits, churches and other entities. 

Rep. Camp selected the following House members to serve on the ad hoc committee: State Representatives John Carson (R-Marietta), Karla Drenner (D-Avondale Estates), Joseph Gullet (R-Dallas), Jordan Ridley (R-Woodstock), Ruwa Romman (D-Duluth), Brad Thomas (R-Holly Springs), Regina Lewis-Ward (D-McDonough) and Bill Werkheiser (R-Glennville).

“I’m excited to work with my House colleagues to address the growing developments surrounding community solar in Georgia,” said Chair Camp. “The industry’s rapid growth presents us with the opportunity to take a deep dive into sustainable energy solutions for Georgia’s communities, focusing on technology, economic development and environmental stewardship. This committee will play a pivotal role in paving the way for a more sustainable future for Georgia’s solar energy sector. By fostering collaboration and implementing strategic initiatives, I am confident that my colleagues and I can drive meaningful progress and long-term sustainability in this critical industry.”

Information on future public meetings of the Energy, Utilities and Telecommunications Ad Hoc Committee on Community Solar will be posted online at

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Website by - Copyright 2021